Understand Your Rights and Your Employer's Responsibilities After Your Workers' Comp Injury
Understanding Your Employer's Responsibility to You
Your rights under California workers’ compensation law don’t just begin after you’ve sustained a Chico workplace injury or illness, but from the moment you are hired.
Before a work-related illness or injury occurs, your employer is responsible for the following:
- Obtaining workers’ compensation insurance from a third party or meeting the qualifications necessary for a self-funded plan.
- Paying the full premium for workers’ compensation insurance—in other words, your employer cannot take premium costs for this type of insurance out of your salary.
- Distributing literature to all new employees detailing their rights and responsibilities under workers’ compensation law.
- Posting the California Division of Workers’ Compensation Notice to Employees in a place where all workers can see it. Besides explaining what to do if you get hurt, the notice should provide you with important information about your employer’s insurance provider and contact information for their Medical Provider Network and Claims Administrator.
Once you’ve reported a work-related injury or illness, your employer is responsible for the following:
- Providing you with a workers’ compensation claim form within one business day of the report.
- Giving you a duplicate of the completed claim form within one business day of receipt.
- Forwarding the completed claim form as well as your initial report of the work-related illness or injury to the claims administrator within one business day of receipt.
- Authorizing up to $10,000 in appropriate medical treatment within 24 hours of receipt.
- Offering transitional or light duty work when appropriate.
A special note: When you are the victim of a crime that occurred while you were working, your employer must provide you with a notice explaining your workers’ compensation eligibility within one business day of the crime.
Employers who aren’t complying with state law must be held accountable. If you need to learn more, contact an experienced Chico workers' compensation attorney today by calling 888-761-7383 or filling out the online contact form. Our information-packed guide, The Northern California Workers’ Compensation Survival Manual, is available free to your request.